You are here

People

Department Chair & Administrator

Faculty

List of Department of English Faculty
Name Phone E-mail Office

Bluford Adams

Associate Professor

319-335-0461

bluford-adams@uiowa.edu

458 EPB

Florence Boos

Professor

319-335-0434

florence-boos@uiowa.edu

319 EPB

Lori Branch

Associate Professor

319-353-2466

lori-branch@uiowa.edu

368 EPB

Matthew Brown

Associate Professor, Director of Undergraduate Studies

319-335-0475

matthew-p-brown@uiowa.edu

351 EPB

Jennifer Buckley

Associate Professor

319-335-0323

jennifer-buckley@uiowa.edu

357 EPB

Corey Creekmur

Associate Professor

319-335-2824

corey-creekmur@uiowa.edu

W211 AJB

John D'Agata

M.F. Carpenter Professor of English, Director of the Nonfiction Writing Program

319-335-0700

john-philip-dagata@uiowa.edu

415 EPB

Kathleen Diffley

Associate Professor, Director of Undergraduate Honors Program

319-335-0437

kathleen-diffley@uiowa.edu

355 EPB

Ed Folsom

Roy J. Carver Professor of English, Director of the Undergraduate Creative Writing Track

319-335-0450

ed-folsom@uiowa.edu

373 EPB

Eric Gidal

Professor

319-335-1510

eric-gidal@uiowa.edu

366 EPB

Loren Glass

Professor

319-335-0446

loren-glass@uiowa.edu

464 EPB

Blaine Greteman

Associate Professor

319-384-1860

blaine-greteman@uiowa.edu

474 EPB

Naomi Greyser

Associate Professor

319-335-0183

naomi-greyser@uiowa.edu

422 JB

Louisa Hall

Assistant Professor

louisa-hall@uiowa.edu

356 EPB

Adam Hooks

Associate Professor

319-384-0568

adam-hooks@uiowa.edu

455 EPB

Kerry Howley

Assistant Professor

319-335-2608

kerry-howley@uiowa.edu

423 EPB

Marie Kruger

Associate Professor

319-335-3121

marie-kruger@uiowa.edu

370 EPB

Brooks Landon

Professor, Associate Chair for Faculty

319-335-0641

brooks-landon@uiowa.edu

376 EPB

Kathy Lavezzo

Professor, Director of Graduate Studies

319-335-0294

kathy-lavezzo@uiowa.edu

452 EPB

Teresa Mangum

Professor, Director of the Obermann Center for Advanced Studies

319-335-5034

teresa-mangum@uiowa.edu

406 Jefferson Building

Christopher Merrill

Professor

319-335-2609

christopher-merrill@uiowa.edu

100 SHSE

Peter Nazareth

Professor

319-335-0448

peter-nazareth@uiowa.edu

468 EPB

Jeff Porter

Professor

319-335-0468

jeff-porter@uiowa.edu

305A EPB

Mary Ann Rasmussen

Associate Professor of Instruction

319-335-2602

maryann-rasmussen@uiowa.edu

454 EPB

William Rhodes

Assistant Professor

william-rhodes@uiowa.edu

466 EPB

Laura Rigal

Associate Professor

319-335-2922

laura-rigal@uiowa.edu

372 EPB

Elizabeth Rodriguez Fielder

Assistant Professor

elizabeth-fielder-1@uiowa.edu

407 EPB

Phillip Round

John C. Gerber Professor of English

319-335-0476

phillip-round@uiowa.edu

313 EPB

Robyn Schiff

Professor

319-335-0472

robyn-schiff@uiowa.edu

358 EPB

Bennett Sims

Assistant Professor

frank-sims@uiowa.edu

360 EPB

Anne Stapleton

Associate Professor of Instruction

319-335-0533

anne-stapleton@uiowa.edu

315 EPB

Harry Stecopoulos

Associate Professor

319-335-1260

harilaos-stecopoulos@uiowa.edu

374 EPB

Garrett Stewart

James O. Freedman Professor of Letters

319-335-0441

garrett-stewart@uiowa.edu

352 EPB

Bonnie Sunstein

Professor

319-335-2591; 319-335-5607

bonnie-sunstein@uiowa.edu

421 EPB; N266 LC

Miriam Thaggert

Associate Professor

319-335-0436

miriam-thaggert@uiowa.edu

353 EPB

Inara Verzemnieks

Assistant Professor

319-335-0474

inara-verzemnieks@uiowa.edu

417 EPB

Stephen Voyce

Associate Professor

319-335-0442

stephen-voyce@uiowa.edu

362 EPB

Jonathan Wilcox

Professor

319-335-0443

jonathan-wilcox@uiowa.edu

450 EPB

Doris Witt

Associate Professor

319-335-0432

doris-witt@uiowa.edu

453 EPB

David Wittenberg

Associate Professor

319-335-0465

david-wittenberg@uiowa.edu

472 EPB

Adjunct Faculty

List of Department of English Adjunct Faculty
Name Phone E-mail Office

Tameka Cage Conley

Adjunct Assistant Professor

tameka-cageconley@uiowa.edu

366 EPB

Thomas Keegan

Adjunct Assistant Professor

319-335-9275

thomas-keegan@uiowa.edu

1015 Main Library

Emmett Rensin

Adjunct Assistant Professor

emmett-rensin@uiowa.edu

407 EPB

Visiting Faculty

List of Department of English Visiting Assistant Professors
Name Phone E-mail Office

Nellene Benhardus

Visiting Assistant Professor

nellene-benhardus@uiowa.edu

305B EPB

Matthew Blackwell

Visiting Assistant Professor

matthew-blackwell@uiowa.edu

456 EPB

Julie Kedzie

Provost Visiting Writer - Nonfiction

julie-kedzie@uiowa.edu

357 EPB

Andrew David King

Provost Visiting Writer - Poetry

andy-king@uiowa.edu

357 EPB

Taney Kurth

Visiting Assistant Professor

taney-kurth@uiowa.edu

457 EPB

Nina Morrison

Provost Visiting Writer - Playwriting

nina-morrison@uiowa.edu

357 EPB

Dina Peone

Visiting Assistant Professor

dina-peone@uiowa.edu

Natalia Reyes

Provost Visiting Writer - Fiction

natalia-reyes@uiowa.edu

357 EPB

Spenser Santos

Visiting Assistant Professor

spenser-santos@uiowa.edu

457 EPB

Makayla Steiner

Diehl Fellow

makayla-steiner@uiowa.edu

73 EPB

NWP Visiting Professors

List of Department of English NWP Visiting Professors
Name Phone E-mail Office

Hanif Abduraquib

Distinguished Visiting Professor in the Nonfiction Writing Program

413 EPB

Patricia Foster

Professor Emeritus

patricia-a-foster@uiowa.edu

419 EPB

International Visitors

Visiting International Faculty
Name Phone E-mail Office

Raphaël Ricaud

Montpellier Exchange Faculty Visitor

Emeritus Faculty

List of Department of English Emeritus Faculty
Name E-mail

Marvin Bell

Carol de St. Victor

carol-desaintvictor@uiowa.edu

Stavros Deligiorgis

stavros.deligiorgis@gmail.com

Paul Diehl

paul-diehl@uiowa.edu

Barbara Eckstein

barbara-eckstein@uiowa.edu

Mary Lou Emery

mary-emery@uiowa.edu

Hualing Nieh Engle

hualing-engle@uiowa.edu

Miriam Gilbert

miriam-gilbert@uiowa.edu

John Grant

john-grant@uiowa.edu

David Hamilton

david-hamilton@uiowa.edu

John Harper

jharper091@gmail.com

Robin Hemley

robin-hemley@uiowa.edu

Cheryl Herr

cheryl-herr@uiowa.edu

John Huntley

john-huntley@uiowa.edu

Robert Kelley

robert-kelley@uiowa.edu

Carl Klaus

www.carlklaus.com

carl-klaus@uiowa.edu

Kevin Kopelson

kevin-kopelson@uiowa.edu

Ruedi Kuenzli

rudolf-kuenzli@uiowa.edu

William Kupersmith

William-Kupersmith@uiowa.edu

Susan Lohafer

susan-lohafer@uiowa.edu

Dee Morris

dee-morris@uiowa.edu

Alan Nagel

alan-nagel@uiowa.edu

Horace Porter

horace-porter@uiowa.edu

John Raeburn

john-raeburn@uiowa.edu

Alvin Snider

alvin-snider@uiowa.edu

Oliver Steele

Bob Woerner

Fred Woodard

fredrick-woodard@uiowa.edu

Staff

List of Department of English Staff
Name Phone E-mail Office

Corey Campbell

Administrative Services Coordinator for the Nonfiction Writing Program and the English and Creative Writing Major

319-384-4176

corey-campbell@uiowa.edu

438 EPB

Kate Conlow

Deputy Managing Editor for The Iowa Review, Managing Editor for Philological Quarterly, and Founding Editor of the UI Prison Writing Project

319-335-0462

kate-conlow@uiowa.edu

302 EPB

Cherie Hansen-Rieskamp

Academic Coordinator - Graduate Program

319-335-0440

cherie-hansen-rieskamp@uiowa.edu

308C EPB

Rebecca Isaacs

Administrative Services Coordinator; TA and RA Coordinator and Assistant to the English Department

319-467-0281

rebecca-isaacs@uiowa.edu

308E EPB

Dianne Jones

IT Support Consultant

319-335-1693

dianne-jones@uiowa.edu

442 EPB

Amanda McAllister

Administrative Services Coordinator - Shared Services - CLAS

319-335-0020

amanda-j-mcallister@uiowa.edu

323A EPB

Nancy McCallister

HR Coordinator

319-384-3253

nancy-mccallister@uiowa.edu

327 EPB

Lynne Nugent

Managing Editor for the Iowa Review

319-335-0462

lynne-nugent@uiowa.edu

302 EPB

Barb Pooley

Administrative Services Administrator

319-335-2684

barbara-pooley@uiowa.edu

323A EPB

Hannah Sorrell

Administrative Services Coordinator; Curriculum Coordinator & Assistant to the DEO

319-335-0454

hannah-sorrell@uiowa.edu

308B

Kristina Swanson

Accountant

319-335-0459

kristina-swanson@uiowa.edu

323B EPB

Kate Torno

Academic Advisor

319-335-0457

kate-torno@uiowa.edu

308D EPB

Allison Wanger

Academic Advisor

allison-wanger@uiowa.edu

310A EPB

Graduate Students

List of Department of English Graduate Students
Name E-mail

Heidi Renée Aijala

heidi-aijala@uiowa.edu

Tony John Andrews

tony-john-andrews@uiowa.edu

Neala Arnold

neala-arnold@uiowa.edu

Alexander Ashland

alexander-ashland@uiowa.edu

Faith Avery

faith-avery@uiowa.edu

Kassie Baron

kassie-baron@uiowa.edu

Kyle Barton

kyle-barton@uiowa.edu

Benjamin Batzer

benjamin-batzer@uiowa.edu

Brittany Bettendorf

brittany-bettendorf@uiowa.edu

Matthew Blackwell

Visiting Assistant Professor

matthew-blackwell@uiowa.edu

Yasmin Boakye

yasmin-boakye@uiowa.edu

Enrico Bruno

enrico-bruno@uiowa.edu

Anne (Annie) Burkhart

anne-burkhart@uiowa.edu

Victoria (Torie) Burns

victoria-burns@uiowa.edu

Maria Capecchi

maria-capecchi@uiowa.edu

Andrew Cardenas

andrew-cardenas@uiowa.edu

Jaclyn Carver

jaclyn-carver@uiowa.edu

Qiao Yang (Jamie) Chen

qiaoyang-chen@uiowa.edu

Caroline Cheung

caroline-cheung@uiowa.edu

Gabriela June Tully Claymore

gabriela-tully-claymore@uiowa.edu

Kathleen Cole

kathleen-cole@uiowa.edu

Julia Conrad

julia-conrad@uiowa.edu

Rajorshi Das

rajorshi-das@uiowa.edu

Jenny Davis

jenny-davis@uiowa.edu

Reid Dempsey

reid-dempsey@uiowa.edu

Louisa (LuLu) Dewey

louisa-dewey@uiowa.edu

Harrison Dietzman

harrison-dietzman@uiowa.edu

Kyler Dill

kyler-dill@uiowa.edu

Christopher Dolle

christopher-dolle@uiowa.edu

Carey Manning Dunne

carey-dunne@uiowa.edu

Jomil Ebro

jomil-ebro@uiowa.edu

Bryanne Estes

bryanne-estes@uiowa.edu

Ian Faith

ian-faith@uiowa.edu

Joshua Foley

joshua-foley@uiowa.edu

Ryan Furlong

ryan-furlong@uiowa.edu

Jonathan Gleason

jonathan-gleason@uiowa.edu

Amelia Gramling

amelia-gramling@uiowa.edu

Gyasi Hall

gyasi-hall@uiowa.edu

Laura Hayes

laura-hayes@uiowa.edu

Matthew Helm

matthew-helm@uiowa.edu

Conor Hilton

conor-hilton@uiowa.edu

EmmaJean Holley

emmajean-holley@uiowa.edu

Ivo Ivanoff

ivo-ivanoff@uiowa.edu

Cassandra Jensen

cassandra-jensen@uiowa.edu

Danielle Kennedy

danielle-kennedy-1@uiowa.edu

Jessica Kibler

jessica-kibler@uiowa.edu

Benjamin Kirbach

benjamin-kirbach@uiowa.edu

Jessica (Jessie) Kraemer

jessica-kraemer@uiowa.edu

Braden (Brady) Krien

braden-krien@uiowa.edu

Haley Larson

haley-larson@uiowa.edu

Bryn Lovitt

bryn-lovitt@uiowa.edu

Jeremy Lowenthal

jeremy-lowenthal@uiowa.edu

Julia Lucas

julia-lucas@uiowa.edu

Tianyu Ma

tianyu-ma@uiowa.edu

Pedro Martinez

pedro-a-martinez@uiowa.edu

Lydia Maunz-Breese

lydia-maunz@uiowa.edu

Maddison McGann

maddison-mcgann@uiowa.edu

Dylan McGonigle

dylan-mcgonigle@uiowa.edu

Brittany Means

brittany-means@uiowa.edu

Brandon (James) O'Neil

brandon-oneil@uiowa.edu

Kofi Opam

kofi-opam@uiowa.edu

Jamila Osman

jamila-osman@uiowa.edu

Katherine Ostdiek

katherine-wetzel@uiowa.edu

Annemarie Pearson

annemarie-pearson@uiowa.edu

Khaled Rajeh

khaled-rajeh@uiowa.edu

Katherine Randazzo

katherine-randazzo@uiowa.edu

Tatiana Schlote-Bonne

tatiana-schlote-bonne@uiowa.edu

Paul Schmitt

paul-schmitt@uiowa.edu

Ian Shank

ian-shank@uiowa.edu

Kathleen Shaughnessy

kathleen-shaughnessy-1@uiowa.edu

Margaret Sheppard

margaret-sheppard@uiowa.edu

Caitlin Simmons

caitlin-simmons@uiowa.edu

Sanjna Singh

sanjna-singh@uiowa.edu

E Mariah Spencer

e-spencer@uiowa.edu

Meredith Stabel

meredith-stabel@uiowa.edu

Makayla Steiner

makayla-steiner@uiowa.edu

Bronwyn Stewart

bronwyn-stewart@uiowa.edu

Darius Stewart

darius-stewart@uiowa.edu

Rachel Sudbeck

rachel-sudbeck@uiowa.edu

Konrad Swartz

konrad-swartz@uiowa.edu

Andrew Tan-Delli Cicchi

andrew-tan-dellicicchi@uiowa.edu

Tiffany Tucker

tiffany-m-tucker@uiowa.edu

Rachel Walerstein

rachel-walerstein@uiowa.edu

Lei Wang

lei-wang@uiowa.edu

Bambi Whitaker

bambi-whitaker@uiowa.edu

Philip Zaborowski

philip-zaborowski@uiowa.edu