The Nonfiction Writing Program

2018 Krause Prize Nominees Announced

Judging for the 2018 Krause Prize (nee The Essay Prize) begins this spring in an annual seminar taught by NWP faculty.

For the past ten years, The Nonfiction Writing Program has awarded The Essay Prize, a literary award designed to celebrate “the art of the essay,” according to its website. Past recipients of the prize include Sophie Calle, David Rakoff, Claudia Rankine, Oliver Sacks, and Mary Ruefle.

Winners are selected from an average of 12-15 nominees which are recommended to the NWP by a rotating committee of writers, editors, filmmakers, radio producers, and performers. NWP students spend the spring semester discussing each of those nominees, giving presentations about them and publishing weekly critical essays about each of them in the NWP’s national magazine The Essay Review

This year’s nominating committee was made up of Brian Blanchfield, Melissa Febos, Thalia Field, Dennis Funk, Roxane Gay, Noah Eli Gordon, Leslie Jamison, Cheston Knapp, Elliott Krause, Kiese Laymon, Gwen Mascai, Ander Monson, Maggie Nelson, and Wendy Walters.

Their nominations are the following:

Hanif Abdurraqib, They Can’t Kill Us Until They Kill Us
(Two Dollar Radio)

Thi Bui, The Best We Could Do
(Harry Abrams)

Brian Dillon, Essayism
(Fitzcarraldo Editions)

Rachel Kaadzi Ghansah, “A Most American Terrorist”

David O’Reilly, “Everything”
(Double Fine Presents)

Raoul Peck, “I Am Not Your Negro”
(Velvet Films)

Jordan Peele, “Get Out”
(Blumhouse Productions)

Aisha Sloan Sabatini, Dreaming of Ramadi in Detroit
(1913 Press)

Selah Saterstrom, Ideal Suggestions
(Essay Press)

Zach Savich, “Body Map”

Lee Anne Schmidt, “Purge This Land”
(Lee Anne Schmidt Productions)

Phil Smith, “We Are Here to Help Each Other Get Through This Thing, Whatever It Is”
(Falling Tree Productions)

Jeannie Vanasco, The Glass Eye
(Tin House Books)

Shawn Wen, A Twenty-Minute Silence Followed by Applause
(Sarabande Books)

The winner, which will be selected in May, will receive $10,000 and an invitation to the NWP to present his or her essay and spend time with the program’s students and faculty. The 2018 Krause Prize has been named in honor of a generous donation from the Kyle J. and Sharon Krause Family Foundation. 

Other Articles in this Newsletter