Thursday, August 24, 2023

Marilyn Abildskov, NWP 1997, published “Ohashi Bridge in the Rain” in The Sun.

Faith Adiele, NWP 2002, became the first weekly columnist for DETOUR: BEST STORIES IN BLACK TRAVEL. Her column appears in The Miami Herald, Charlotte Observer, and on the DETOUR website and social media.

Ilana Bean, NWP 2023, published the essay “Safety Town” in Guernica.

Hannah Bonner, NWP 2024, was selected as an Emerging Critics Fellow by the National Book Critics Circle.

Brittany Borghi, NWP 2018, was awarded a 2022-23 Fulbright Study/Research grant in Creative Writing to Italy. She published the essay “When Partners Disappear Together” in The Hopkins Review

book cover for essay collection Bub by Drew Bratcher

Drew Bratcher, NWP 2016, published his debut nonfiction book, Bub: Essays from Just North of Nashville, with the University of Iowa Press.

Frances Cannon, NWP 2017, is joining the Kenyon College faculty this August as the Mellon Science and Nature Writing Fellow, 2023/24 to 2024/25.

Matthew Clark, NWP 2009, will publish the essay collection Bjarki, Not Bjarki: On Floorboards, Love, and Irreconcilable Differences with the University of Iowa Press.

Julia Conrad, NWP 2020, published the essays "Arte Migrante" and “Live-Wire Intimacy: On Goliarda Sapienza’s ‘Meeting in Positano’” in The Millions. Her debut nonfiction book Sex and the Symphony is forthcoming from Harper.

novel Dykette by Nonfiction Writing Program alum Jenny Fran Davis

Jenny Fran Davis, NWP 2022, published her second novel, Dykette, with Henry Holt in spring 2023.

Micah Fields, NWP 2018, is publishing his first book of nonfiction, We Hold Our Breath: A Journey to Texas Between Storms, with W. W. Norton in fall 2023. He will give a reading at Prairie Lights Books in October 2023.

Richard Frailing, NWP 2025, published the essay “Silver Salt” in Tupelo Quarterly. The essay also won the NWP’s Roxanne Mueller Award in spring 2023.

The manuscript Field Guide to Falling Ill by Jonathan Gleason, NWP 2022, was shortlisted for the Graywolf Press Nonfiction Prize. He published the essay “Field Guide to Falling Ill” in The Sun in spring 2023.

Mason Hamberlin, NWP 2023, published the essays “Non-Franzenable Tokens” in Cleveland Review of Books and “The Claws that Type the Text: Ander Monson’s PREDATOR: A MEMOIR, A MOVIE, AN OBSESSION” in The Rumpus.

book cover for Bottoms Up and the Devil Laughs by Kerry Howley

Kerry Howley, NWP 2011, published her second book of nonfiction, Bottoms Up and the Devil Laughs: A Journey Through the Deep State, with Knopf Random House in spring 2023. In addition, her piece “House of Spears” was a New York Magazine cover story.

Kevin Koch, NWP 1983, will publish Midwest Bedrock: Searching for Nature’s Soul in America’s Heartland, with Indiana University Press in 2024.

ICE FOLX: An Antarctic Memoir by Stephanie Krzywonos, NWP 2025, is forthcoming from Harper Books in 2025.

Yiyun Li, NWP 2005, published the novel The Book of Goose with ‎Farrar, Straus and Giroux. Her new short story collection, Wednesday’s Child, is forthcoming in fall 2023.

Lucas Mann, NWP 2012, is publishing his new essay collection Attachments with the University of Iowa Press in 2024.

Brittany Means, NWP 2020, has a debut essay collection, Hell If We Don’t Change Our Ways, forthcoming this fall from Zibby Books. She will read at Prairie Lights Books on November 2.

Tan Tuck Ming, NWP 2022, published the essay “Departures” in Kenyon Review

Marcia Noe, NWP 1976, published her new book, Three Midwestern Playwrights: How Floyd Dell, George Cram Cook, and Susan Glaspell Transformed American Theatre, with Indiana University Press. 

Lynne Nugent, NWP 2004 and Editor of The Iowa Review, was featured in a recent issue of Poets & Writers. She serves as co-chair of the Pan Asian Council (Diversity Council) and also is on the Council on the Status of Women at University of Iowa.  

Elena Passarello, NWP 2008, will publish her latest book of nonfiction, The Elvis Lessons: Trying on the Life (And Afterlife) of an American Icon, with Penguin Press. 

Angela Pelster, NWP 2012, published the essay “Honey Church” in Orion Magazine.

America Del Norte, the first novel by Nicolás Medina Mora Pérez, NWP 2019, is forthcoming from SoHo Press in 2024.

Andre Perry, NWP 2008, serves as The Chuck Swanson Executive Director of Hancher Auditorium at the University of Iowa. 

book cover All is Leaf by Nonfiction Writing Program alum John Price

John T. Price, NWP 1995, published the essay collection All is Leaf: Essays and Transformations as part of the Bur Oak Books series at the University of Iowa Press.

The Complications: On Going Insane in America, a new book by Emmett Rensin, NWP 2019, is forthcoming from HarperOne.

Annie Sand, NWP 2017, published the essay “On Metaphors and Snow Boots” in Guernica.

Tatiana Schlote-Bonne, NWP 2022, will publish her first novel, Tell Me a Secret, with Page Street Kids in 2024.

Bela Shayevich, NWP 2024, published the essay "Migizi Will Fly" in n+1. A prolific translator, Bela translated the forthcoming nonfiction book I Love Russia: Reporting from a Lost Country by Elena Kostyuchenko.

Sanjna Singh, NWP 2022 and new coordinator overseeing the brand new Nonfiction Writing House, published the essay “Choosing the Flowers” in Guernica.

Darius Stewart, NWP 2020, is publishing his second book, a lyric memoir titled Be Not Afraid of My Body, in spring 2024. This follows his first book, the poetry collection Intimacies in Borrowed Light, published in 2022.

University of Georgia Press published the posthumous essay collection One By One, the Stars by Ned Stuckey-French, NWP 1997.

Rachel Sudbeck, NWP 2021, published the flash piece “You Should Ask for More” in River Teeth’s weekly magazine of micro-essays, Beautiful Things. Also, her essay “Whatever We Are to Each Other” appeared in Atticus Review

Deborah Taffa, NWP 2013, is publishing her memoir Whiskey Tender with Harper in early 2024. She will give a reading at Prairie Lights Books in March 2024. Director of the MFA in Creative Writing at the Institute for American Indian Arts (IAIA) in Santa Fe, NM, she also will participate in the Desert Nights, Rising Stars literary conference this fall at Arizona State University.

Bellevue Literary Press published Your Hearts, Your Scars, the posthumous essay collection by writer Adina Talve-Goodman, a much-loved member of the NWP community in the class of 2019. Before joining the NWP as an MFA student, Adina worked as managing editor of the journal One Story

Tiffany Marie Tucker, NWP 2020, published the essay “East Side Crazy” in TriQuarterly

book cover of To Name the Bigger Lie by Sarah Viren

Sarah Viren, NWP 2011, published the book To Name the Bigger Lie: A Memoir in Two Stories, to wide acclaim. She will give a reading at Prairie Lights Books in September 2023. In addition, her essay "It's Not Personal: Sarah Viren on Essayistic Visions of the Self" appeared in Lithub.

Wyatt Williams, NWP 2023, was named CLAS Postgraduate Visiting Writer in Nonfiction for 2023-2024. His piece “Clancy Martin's Writerly Repetitions appeared in the New Yorker.