You are here

People

Department Chair & Administrator

Faculty

List of Department of English Faculty
Name Phone E-mail Office

Bluford Adams

Associate Professor

319-335-0461

bluford-adams@uiowa.edu

458 EPB

Aron Aji

Director of MFA in Literary Translation Associate Professor of Instruction

319-335-2248

aron-aji@uiowa.edu

520 PH

Kaveh Akbar

Associate Professor/Director of the English and Creative Writing Major

kaveh-akbar@uiowa.edu

Florence Boos

Professor

319-335-0434

florence-boos@uiowa.edu

319 EPB

Lori Peterson Branch

Associate Professor

319-353-2466

lori-branch@uiowa.edu

368 EPB

Matthew Brown

Associate Professor

319-335-0475

matthew-p-brown@uiowa.edu

351 EPB

Jennifer Buckley

Associate Professor

319-335-0323

jennifer-buckley@uiowa.edu

366 EPB

Tara Bynum

Assistant Professor

319-335-0472

tara-bynum@uiowa.edu

358 EPB

Corey Creekmur

Associate Professor

319-335-2824

corey-creekmur@uiowa.edu

W211 AJB

John D'Agata

Professor

319-335-0700

john-philip-dagata@uiowa.edu

415 EPB

Melissa Febos

Associate Professor

319-335-2464

melissa-febos@uiowa.edu

413 EPB

Claire Fox

M.F. Carpenter Professor of English

319-335-0302

claire-fox@uiowa.edu

476 EPB

Eric Gidal

Professor

319-335-1510

eric-gidal@uiowa.edu

350 EPB

David Gooblar

Assistant Professor

319-384-4042

david-gooblar@uiowa.edu

457 EPB

Blaine Greteman

Professor

319-384-1860

blaine-greteman@uiowa.edu

474 EPB

Naomi Greyser

Associate Professor

319-335-0183

naomi-greyser@uiowa.edu

422 JB

Louisa Hall

Assistant Professor

louisa-hall@uiowa.edu

356 EPB

Adam Hooks

Associate Professor

319-384-0568

adam-hooks@uiowa.edu

455 EPB

Donika Kelly

Assistant Professor

319-335-0470

donika-kelly@uiowa.edu

354 EPB

Marie Kruger

Associate Professor

319-335-3121

marie-kruger@uiowa.edu

370 EPB

Brooks Landon

Professor; Director of Nonfiction Writing Program

319-335-0641

brooks-landon@uiowa.edu

419 EPB

Kathy Lavezzo

Professor

319-335-0294

kathy-lavezzo@uiowa.edu

452 EPB

Paige Lewis

Assistant Professor

paige-lewis-1@uiowa.edu

355 EPB

Teresa Mangum

Professor, Director of the Obermann Center for Advanced Studies

319-335-5034

teresa-mangum@uiowa.edu

406 Jefferson Building

Christopher Merrill

Professor

319-335-2609

christopher-merrill@uiowa.edu

100 SHSE

Hayley O'Malley

Assistant Professor

hayley-omalley@uiowa.edu

W235 Adler

William Rhodes

Assistant Professor

william-rhodes@uiowa.edu

466 EPB

Elizabeth Rodriguez Fielder

Assistant Professor

Elizabeth-rodriguez-fielder@uiowa.edu

470 EPB

Phillip Round

John C. Gerber Professor of English; Director of Undergraduate Studies

319-335-0476

phillip-round@uiowa.edu

313 EPB

Bennett Sims

Assistant Professor

frank-sims@uiowa.edu

360 EPB

Anne Stapleton

Professor of Instruction

319-335-0533

anne-stapleton@uiowa.edu

315 EPB

Harry Stecopoulos

Associate Professor

319-335-1260

harilaos-stecopoulos@uiowa.edu

374 EPB

Garrett Stewart

James O. Freedman Professor of Letters

319-335-0441

garrett-stewart@uiowa.edu

352 EPB

Bonnie Sunstein

Professor

319-335-2591; 319-335-5607

bonnie-sunstein@uiowa.edu

421 EPB; N266 LC

Inara Verzemnieks

Assistant Professor

319-335-0474

inara-verzemnieks@uiowa.edu

417 EPB

Stephen Voyce

Associate Professor, Director of Graduate Studies

319-335-0442

stephen-voyce@uiowa.edu

362 EPB

Deborah Whaley

Professor

319-335-3494

deborah-whaley@uiowa.edu

372 EPB

Jonathan Wilcox

Professor, Associate Chair

319-335-0443

jonathan-wilcox@uiowa.edu

450 EPB

Doris Witt

Associate Professor

319-335-0432

doris-witt@uiowa.edu

453 EPB

David Wittenberg

Professor

319-335-0465

david-wittenberg@uiowa.edu

472 EPB

Adjunct Faculty

List of Department of English Adjunct Faculty
Name Phone E-mail Office

Eric Ensley

Adjunct Assistant Professor

319-467-3253

eric-ensley@uiowa.edu

LIB 3015

Jonathan Gleason

Adjunct Assistant Professor

jonathan-gleason@uiowa.edu

305A EPB

Thomas Keegan

Adjunct Assistant Professor

319-335-9275

thomas-keegan@uiowa.edu

1015 Main Library

Derek Nnuro

Adjunct Assistant Professor

derek-nnuro@uiowa.edu

473 EPB

Andre Perry

Adjunct Assistant Professor

andre-perry@uiowa.edu

473 EPB

Visiting Faculty

List of Department of English Visiting Assistant Professors
Name Phone E-mail Office

Jacqui Alpine

Visiting Assistant Professor

jacquelyn-alpine@uiowa.edu

303B EPB

Gabriela Tully Claymore

CLAS Visiting Writer-Nonfiction (Visiting Assistant Professor)

gabriela-tully-claymore@uiowa.edu

357 EPB

Ruben Cota

Visiting Assistant Professor

ruben-cota@uiowa.edu

303A EPB

Sara Gilmore

CLAS Visiting Writer-Poetry (Visiting Assistant Professor)

sara-gilmore@uiowa.edu

357 EPB

Michaeljulius Idani

CLAS Visiting Writer-Fiction (Visiting Assistant Professor)

michaeljulius-idani@uiowa.edu

357 EPB

Bryn Lovitt

Visiting Assistant Professor

bryn-lovitt@uiowa.edu

305B EPB

Sarah Minor

Visiting Assistant Professor

sarah-minor@uiowa.edu

468 EPB

Kathleen Maris Paltrineri

CLAS Visiting Writer-Literary Translation (Visiting Assistant Professor)

kathleen-maris-paltrineri@uiowa.edu

357 EPB

NWP Visiting Professors

List of Department of English NWP Visiting Professors
Name Phone E-mail Office

Jordan Kisner

Distinguished Visiting Professor

International Visitors

Visiting International Faculty
Name Phone E-mail Office

Yunyan Zhangyunyan

Emeritus Faculty

List of Department of English Emeritus Faculty
Name E-mail

Carol de St. Victor

carol-desaintvictor@uiowa.edu

Stavros Deligiorgis

stavros.deligiorgis@gmail.com

Kathleen Diffley

kathleen-diffley@uiowa.edu

Barbara Eckstein

barbara-eckstein@uiowa.edu

Mary Lou Emery

mary-emery@uiowa.edu

Hualing Nieh Engle

hualing-engle@uiowa.edu

Ed Folsom

ed-folsom@uiowa.edu

Patricia Foster

patricia-a-foster@uiowa.edu

Miriam Gilbert

miriam-gilbert@uiowa.edu

David Hamilton

david-hamilton@uiowa.edu

John Harper

jharper091@gmail.com

Robin Hemley

robin-hemley@uiowa.edu

Cheryl Herr

cheryl-herr@uiowa.edu

John Huntley

john-huntley@uiowa.edu

Robert Kelley

robert-kelley@uiowa.edu

Kevin Kopelson

kevin-kopelson@uiowa.edu

Ruedi Kuenzli

rudolf-kuenzli@uiowa.edu

William Kupersmith

William-Kupersmith@uiowa.edu

Susan Lohafer

susan-lohafer@uiowa.edu

Dee Morris

dee-morris@uiowa.edu

Alan Nagel

alan-nagel@uiowa.edu

Peter Nazareth

peter-nazareth@uiowa.edu

Horace Porter

horace-porter@uiowa.edu

Jeff Porter

jeff-porter@uiowa.edu

John Raeburn

john-raeburn@uiowa.edu

Laura Rigal

laura-rigal@uiowa.edu

Alvin Snider

alvin-snider@uiowa.edu

Bob Woerner

Fred Woodard

fredrick-woodard@uiowa.edu

Staff

List of Department of English Staff
Name Phone E-mail Office

Katie Berta

Managing Editor for the Iowa Review

319-467-4216

katherine-berta@uiowa.edu

302 EPB

Corey Campbell

Nonfiction Writing Program Coordinator, Managing Editor for Philological Quarterly, Fulfillment Manager for The Iowa Review

319-384-4176

corey-campbell@uiowa.edu

438 EPB

Andrea Cramer

Administrative Services Coordinator; TA and RA Coordinator and Assistant to the Directors of GEL and the English & Creative Writing Major

319-467-0281

andrea-cramer@uiowa.edu

308E EPB

Cherie Hansen-Rieskamp

Academic Coordinator - Graduate Program

319-335-0440

cherie-hansen-rieskamp@uiowa.edu

308C EPB

Amanda McAllister

Administrative Services Coordinator - Shared Services - CLAS

319-335-0020

amanda-j-mcallister@uiowa.edu

327 EPB

Nancy McCallister

HR Coordinator

319-384-3253

nancy-mccallister@uiowa.edu

212 Van Allen

Christine Norquest

Academic Advisor

christine-norquest@uiowa.edu

310A EPB

Lynne Nugent

Editor for the Iowa Review

319-335-0462

lynne-nugent@uiowa.edu

302 EPB

Barb Pooley

Administrative Services Administrator

319-335-2684

barbara-pooley@uiowa.edu

321 EPB

Kristina Swanson

Accountant

319-335-0459

kristina-swanson@uiowa.edu

323B EPB

Kate Torno

Academic Advisor

319-335-0457

kate-torno@uiowa.edu

308D EPB

Shannon Yost

Administrative Services Coordinator; Curriculum Coordinator & Assistant to the DEO

319-467-4915

shannon-yost@uiowa.edu

308B EPB

Graduate Students

List of Department of English Graduate Students
Name E-mail

Sarah Adler

sarah-adler@uiowa.edu

Kassie Baron

kassie-baron@uiowa.edu

Caelainn Barr

caelainn-barr@uiowa.edu

Sarah Barringer

sarah-barringer@uiowa.edu

Ilana Bean

ilana-bean@uiowa.edu

Hannah Bonner

hannah-bonner@uiowa.edu

Margaret Bowlin

margaret-bowlin@uiowa.edu

Sydnee Brown

sydnee-brown@uiowa.edu

Annie Burkhart

anne-burkhart@uiowa.edu

Torie Burns

victoria-burns@uiowa.edu

Maria Capecchi

maria-capecchi@uiowa.edu

Connie Chen

connie-chen@uiowa.edu

Jamie Chen

qiaoyang-chen@uiowa.edu

Caroline Cheung

caroline-cheung@uiowa.edu

Tove Conway

tove-conway@uiowa.edu

Sophia Craig

sophia-craig@uiowa.edu

Rajorshi Das

rajorshi-das@uiowa.edu

Jenny Davis

jenny-davis@uiowa.edu

Camille Davis

camille-davis@uiowa.edu

Reid Dempsey

reid-dempsey@uiowa.edu

Kyler Dill

kyler-dill@uiowa.edu

Jomil Ebro

jomil-ebro@uiowa.edu

Bryanne Estes

bryanne-estes@uiowa.edu

Georgie Fehringer-Hicks

jennifer-fehringer-hicks@uiowa.edu

Rebecca Flowers

rebecca-flowers@uiowa.edu

Joshua Foley

joshua-foley@uiowa.edu

Ricahrd Frailing

richard-frailing@uiowa.edu

Sarah Frank

sarah-landerholmfrank@uiowa.edu

Larson Fritz

larson-fritz@uiowa.edu

Asha Galindo

asha-galindo@uiowa.edu

Carolyn Gonzalez

carolyn-gonzalez@uiowa.edu

Mason Hamberlin

mason-hamberlin@uiowa.edu

Riley Hanick

riley-hanick@uiowa.edu

Matthew Helm

matthew-helm@uiowa.edu

Conor Hilton

conor-hilton@uiowa.edu

Ivo Ivanoff

ivo-ivanoff@uiowa.edu

Spencer Jones

spencer-jones-1@uiowa.edu

Liv Kane

liv-kane@uiowa.edu

Aidan Kendrick

aidan-kendrick@uiowa.edu

Sarah Khatry

sarah-khatry@uiowa.edu

Benjamin Kirbach

benjamin-kirbach@uiowa.edu

Cathryn Klusmeier

cathryn-klusmeier@uiowa.edu

Stephanie Krzywonos

stephanie-krzywonos@uiowa.edu

Jeremy Lowenthal

jeremy-lowenthal@uiowa.edu

Tianyu (Matt) Ma

tianyu-ma@uiowa.edu

Pedro Martinez

pedro-a-martinez@uiowa.edu

Maddie Matsubara

madelyn-matsubara@uiowa.edu

Maddison McGann

maddison-mcgann@uiowa.edu

Erel Michaelis

erel-michaelis@uiowa.edu

Daisy Morales Trejo

daisy-moralestrejo@uiowa.edu

Grace Morse

grace-morse@uiowa.edu

Darryl Moton

darryl-moton@uiowa.edu

Logan Naylor

logan-naylor@uiowa.edu

Mofiyinfoluwa (Fi) Okupe

mofiyinfoluwa-okupe@uiowa.edu

Aaron Pang

aaron-pang@uiowa.edu

Katie Randazzo

katherine-randazzo@uiowa.edu

Paul Schmitt

paul-schmitt@uiowa.edu

Jennie Sekanics

jennie-sekanics@uiowa.edu

Kathleen Shaughnessy

kathleen-shaughnessy-1@uiowa.edu

Bela Shayevich

bela-shayevich@uiowa.edu

Margaret Sheppard

margaret-sheppard@uiowa.edu

Jenny Singer

jenny-singer@uiowa.edu Hawk Id

Alyssa (Adare) Smith

alyssa-d-smith@uiowa.edu

Kaden St. Onge

kaden-stonge@uiowa.edu

Meredith Stabel

meredith-stabel@uiowa.edu

Bronwyn Stewart

bronwyn-stewart@uiowa.edu

Darius Stewart

darius-stewart@uiowa.edu

Martha Strawbridge

martha-strawbridge@uiowa.edu

Konrad Swartz

konrad-swartz@uiowa.edu

Aileen Tierney

aileen-tierney@uiowa.edu

Thelma Trujillo

thelma-trujillo@uiowa.edu

Bambi Whitaker

bambi-whitaker@uiowa.edu

Ellie White

ellie-white-1@uiowa.edu

Spencer Wilkins

spencer-wilkins@uiowa.edu

Wyatt Williams

wyatt-williams@uiowa.edu

Alexus Williams

alexus-williams@uiowa.edu

Philip Zaborowski

philip-zaborowski@uiowa.edu

Shigraf Zahbi

shigraf-zahbi@uiowa.edu