You are here

Alumni Honors & Awards

Marilyn Abildskov, NWP ’97, was included in Best American Essays 2018, edited by Hilton Als, for her essay “The Trick: Notes Toward a Theory of Plot,” originally published in Gettysburg Review.

Sandy Allen, NWP ’12, won the Narratively Untold Story Award.

Brittany Borghi, NWP ’18, received the Cark Klaus Teaching Award from the University of Iowa.

Amy E. Butcher, NWP ’12, was awarded grand prize and $1000 in The Sonora Review’s flash essay contest for her essay “Flight Path.” Another essay, “Bare Necessities,” was named a notable essay of 2018 in the Best American Essays series, edited by Hilton Als.

Susan Futrell, NWP ’04, won the Readable Feast award for best Socially Conscious Book of 2018 for her book Good Apples. Also in 2018, she was awarded a fellowship by Guru Charitable Foundation and the Abdul Ahad Guru Scholars Program, a family foundation focused on scholarship, education and economic development in the Kashmir Valley.

Kerry Howley, NWP ’11, received a Lannan Literary Fellowship for the spring semester.

Lucy Schiller, NWP ’18, received the prestigious Provost Writers Fellowship from the University of Iowa.

Deborah Taffa, NWP ’13, was named a 2018 fellow by A Public Space in Brooklyn, NY. She also won the Ellen Meloy Desert Writers Award for her essay “Topophilia.”

Sarah Viren, NWP ’11, was included on Lit Hub’s Favorite Books of 2018 list.

Joshua Wheeler, NWP ’15, was awarded the Regents Undergraduate Teaching Award at Louisiana State University.