The Nonfiction Writing Program

Recent NWP Awards & Honors

The NWP community has received some notable new honors. 

Sandra Allen, NWP ’12, won the 11th Hour Food & Farming Fellowship from the University of California at Berkeley. She was also a fellow at the MacDowell Arts Colony.

Catina Bacote, NWP ’13, received the Alice Judson Hayes Social Justice Writing Fellowship.

Amy Butcher, NWP ’12, received the grand prize in the Solas Awards' "Best Travel Writing" series. In addition, her op-ed in The New York Times was cited as the inspiration for the creation of thirteen new professional female-empowered emojis, which were subsequently nominated by the Design Museum of London for their Design of the Year Award. 

Felicia Rose Chavez, NWP ’12, received the Riley Scholar Fellowship and Theodore Roosevelt Collins Outstanding Faculty Award at Colorado College.  

Jennifer S. Cheng, NWP ‘09, won the 2017 Tarpaulin Sky Book Prize, judged by Bhanu Kapil.

Matthew Davis, NWP ’07, was named the Eric and Wendy Schmidt Fellow at New America.

Tom Montgomery Fate, NWP ’87, was named Writer-in-Residence in The Andrews Forest and Scholar-in-Residence at St. John's University in Collegeville, Minnesota. 

April Freely, NWP ’08, was selected as a Writing Fellow at the Fine Arts Work Center in Provincetown, Massachusetts. 

David Groff, NWP ’82, received the Louise Bogan Award for Artistic Excellence, judged by Michael Waters. 

Gabe Houck, NWP ’09, won the Orison Book Prize judged by David Haynes.

Aviya Kushner, NWP ’06, has been named The Forward's new language columnist for which she will publish a monthly essay in the magazine’s print edition. She also won a grant from the Institute for the Translation of Hebrew Literature.

Lucas Mann, NWP ’12, received a 2018 National Endowment for the Arts Creative Writing Fellowship and a USA Fellowship.

Maggie Milstein, NWP ’14, was named the new Executive Editor of Off Assignment. 

Kisha Schlegel, NWP ’12, won the 2017 Gournay Book Prize. 

Sarah Viren, NWP ’11, won the 2017 River Teeth Literary Nonfiction Book Prize, judged by Gretel Ehrlich. 

Cutter Wood, NWP ’09, received a 2018 National Endowment for the Arts Creative Writing Fellowship.

Rachel Yoder, NWP ’11, received the 2017 Iowa Arts Council Fellowship. 

Rossina Zamora Liu, NWP ’07, won the J. Michael Parker award for adult literacy research excellence from the Literacy Research Association.

Jennifer Zoble, NWP ’12, received a 2018 translation grant from the New York State Council on the Arts.

Other Articles in this Newsletter