Nonfiction Writing Program

Visiting Writers Series

Visiting writers regularly join the Nonfiction Writing Program for a week or a semester at a time. In addition to teaching workshops, seminars, and master classes, visiting writers give readings at various venues in downtown Iowa City. Readings are open to the public. 

braverman photoBlair Braverman
author of Welcome to the Goddamn Ice Cube   

  • Thursday, August 25, 7:00pm Prairie Lights                                                                                                                             

Edward Orloffmccormick literary logo
agent, McCormick Literary Agency       

  • Wednesday & Thursday, October 5-6
  • Q&A: Thursday, October 6, 10:00am, 304 English Philosophy Building (Gerber Lounge)                                                                                                            

marcus portrait

Greil Marcus
best-selling rock critic and author of Lipstick Traces 

  • Tuesday, November 1, 7:00pm Englert Theater (free)                                                                                                                                                                       


field portrait

Thalia Field
author of Experimental Animals: A Reality Fiction

  • Friday, November 11, 7:00pm Prairie Lights                                                                                                                                                                                     



daum portrait

Meghan Daum
Bedell Distinguished Visiting Professor 

  • Tuesday, January 31, 7:00pm Prairie Lights                                                                                                                                                                   


Diane Ackerman


Ida Beam Distinguished Visiting Professor

  • Thursday, February 23, 8:00pm Van Allen Hall


Albert Goldbarthgoldbarth

author of The Adventures of Form and Content

  • Wednesday, March 8, 7:00pm Prairie Lights




febos portrait

Melissa Febos
author of Abandon Me 

  • Thursday, March 23, 7:00pm Prairie Lights                                                                                                                                                                       





Elena Passarello 
winner of the 2016 Whiting Award   

  • Monday, March 27, 7:00pm Prairie Lights                                                                                                                                                        

radke portrait

lKristen Radtke and Lina María Ferreira Cabeza-Vanegas​
Kristen Radtke, author of the graphic memoir Imagine Wanting Only This, and  Lina María Ferreira Cabeza-Vanegas, author of the essay collection Don't Come Back.

  • Thursday, April 6, 6:00pm Prairie Lights                                                                                                                            





Recent Visiting Writers

Carl Klaus, Francesca Rendle-Short, Eliot Weinberger, Jim McKean, Jen Percy, Bernard Cooper, Julene Bair, David Lazar, Angela Pelster, John McPhee, Vivian Gornik, John Jeremiah Sullivan, Rebecca Solnit, Maggie Nelson, Wayne Koestenbaum, David Rakoff, Phillip Lopate, Lauren Slater, Donovan Hohn, Gretel Ehrlich, David Shields, Richard Rodriguez, John Edgar Wideman, Cheryl Strayed, Michael Silverblatt, Joe Wenderoth, Jenny Boully, Terry Tempest Williams, Ander Monson, Lawrence Weschler, Eula Biss, Pico Iyer, Patricia Hampl, Jo Ann Beard, Eliot Weinberger, David Lazar, Hope Edelman, Jill Bialosky, Allison Bechdel, Dorothy Wickendon, Jeff Sharlet, Margo Jefferson, and others.