Calendar

The Nonfiction Writing Program

SPRING 2020 CALENDAR

 

Week 1: January 20-25            

REST

Monday, Jan 20: Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday (university offices closed)

 

ACADEMIC

Tuesday, Jan 21: First Day of Classes

 

SOCIAL

Friday, Jan 24, 2PM, EPB 304 (Gerber Lounge): English Dept. Post-Holiday Prandial Party

 

OUTREACH

Friday, Jan 24, 3PM: Colleen Lawrie Project Overviews due to Corey (Third-Years Only)

                         

Week 2: January 27-February 1

AWARD

Thursday, Jan 30, 3PM: Deadline for submissions for Houston Fellowship to Corey

 

READING

Thursday, Jan 30, 7PM, Prairie Lights Books: Hanif Abdurraqib, NWP Bedell Distinguished Visiting Professor

Reception at Jeff Porter’s home

 

COMMUNITY/MASTER CLASS

Friday, Jan 31, 12PM, EPB 304 (Gerber Lounge): A Talk by Colleen Lawrie, Executive Editor at PublicAffairs/Hachette

 

Week 3: February 3-8

AWARD

Monday, Feb 3, 10AM: Deadline for Digital Scholarship & Publishing Studio Summer Fellowship materials to Cherie Hansen-Rieskamp (for PhD and MFA students)

 

AWARD

Monday, Feb 3, 10AM: Deadline for MFA Summer Fellowship materials to Cherie Hansen-Rieskamp

 

AWARD

Tuesday, Feb 4: Deadline for Edwin Ford Piper Memorial Scholarship materials to Cherie Hansen-Rieskamp (for PhD and MFA students)

 

AWARD

Thursday, Feb 6: Deadline for NWP Financial Aid forms to Cherie Hansen-Rieskamp

 

AWARD

Friday, Feb 7: Submissions for Provost’s Postgraduate Visiting Writers Fellowships due online: https://workflow.uiowa.edu/form/provost-postgraduate-visiting-writers (Third-Years Only)

            

Week 4: Feburary 10-15

OUTREACH

Friday, Feb 14, 3PM: Deadline for Buckley Master Class proposals to Corey

 

AWARD

Friday, Feb 14, 3PM: Deadline for Herodotus Award proposals to Corey

 

Week 5: February 17-22

MASTER CLASS

Thursday, Feb 20, 3:45PM, EPB 403 (NWP Founders' Room): Mitchell S. Jackson Master Class

 

READING

Thursday, Feb 20, 7PM, Prairie Lights Books: Mitchell S. Jackson

Reception at the home of Inara Verzemnieks

         

Week 6: February 24-29

ACADEMIC

Friday, Feb 28: Degree application deadline (Third-Years Only)

 

Week 7: March 2-7

OUTREACH

Monday, March 2, 3PM: NEW Deadline for Community Master Class proposals to Corey

 

SOCIAL/READING/OUTREACH

Wed-Sat, March 4-7: AWP in San Antonio, Texas

       

Week 8: March 9-14

BUCKLEY MASTER CLASS (CANCELLED)

Wed-Fri, March 11-13, EPB 269, 331, 469: Buckley Master Classes

 

Week 9: March 16-21

REST

Mon-Fri, March 16-20: Spring Break

 

Week 10: March 23-28

READING (POSTPONED)

Wednesday, March 25, 5:30-6:30PM, Art Building West, Room 240: UI Creative Matters Lecture by Lewis Hyde, Ida Cordelia Beam Distinguished Visiting Professor

                                       

READING (POSTPONED)

Thursday, March 26, 7PM, Prairie Lights Books: Lewis Hyde, Ida Cordelia Beam Distinguished Visiting Professor

Reception at John D’Agata’s home

 

OUTREACH (CANCELLED)

Saturday, March 28, EPB 403 (NWP Founders’ Room): Community Master Classes

 

Week 11: March 30-April 4

ACADEMIC

Tuesday, March 31: Deadline for Fall 2020 course registration preferences emailed to Cherie Hansen-Rieskamp

 

COMMUNITY/READING (MOVED ONLINE)

Wed-Sat, April 1-4: Mission Creek Festival with various visiting writers

 

READING (CANCELLED)

Friday, April 3, 6PM, Prairie Lights Books: Mission Creek's Lit Walk: NWP Showcase featuring Ander Monson and NWP student Lulu Dewey

 

Week 12: April 6-11

COMMUNITY/MASTER CLASS (POSTPONED TO FALL 2020)

Thurs-Fri, April 9-10: Visit by Joey McGarvey, Senior Editor at Milkweed Editions

MFA student meetings tbd

Fri, April 10, 10AM, EPB 304 (Gerber Lounge): Q&A with Joey McGarvey, Senior Editor at Milkweed Editions

 

AWARD

Friday, April 10, 3PM: Submissions for Prairie Lights Prize for Nonfiction due to Corey

 

AWARD

Friday, April 10, 3PM: Submissions for Roxanne Mueller Award due to Corey

 

Week 13: April 13-18

 

 

Week 14: April 20-25

ACADEMIC

Monday, April 20: Early registration for Fall 2020 begins

 

READING (CANCELLED)

Thursday, April 23, 7PM, Prairie Lights Books: Kayleb Rae Candrilli

Reception at Kerry Howley’s home

 

MASTER CLASS (CANCELLED)

Friday, April 24, 10AM, EPB 469: Master Class with Kayleb Rae Candrilli

                

SOCIAL (CANCELLED)

Wednesday, April 29, 5-7PM, Saint Burch Restaurant: English Dept. Graduate Award

Celebration/Reception

 

Week 16: May 4-9

ACADEMIC

Friday, May 8: Close of classes

 

SOCIAL (TBD)

Friday, May 8, Trumpet Blossom, 7PM: NWP Graduation Speakeasy Reading

 

SOCIAL (TBD)

Saturday, May 9, 11AM: NWP Graduation Garden Party at Bonnie Sunstein’s home (1006 Marcy St.)

 

Week 17: May 11-16

ACADEMIC

Final exam week for the university