The Nonfiction Writing Program

Calendar

The Nonfiction Writing Program

FALL 2018 CALENDAR

  

Week 1: August 20-25

 

ACADEMIC

Monday, Aug 20: First Day of Classes

 

SOCIAL

Friday, Aug 24, 1:30PM, Gerber Lounge (EPB 304): “We Survived the First Week” Social Mixer for English Department graduate students, faculty, and staff

 

SOCIAL

Friday, Aug 24, 7:30PM: Annual NWP Ice Cream Social, John D’Agata’s home

 

SOCIAL

Saturday, Aug 25, 7PM, Old Brick, Iowa City: Annual IWP-MFA Mixer

 

 

Week 2: August 27-September 1

 

ACADEMIC

Monday, Aug 27, 3PM: Deadline for submission of votes for NWP Ambassador to Corey

 

AWARD

Monday, Aug 27, 3PM: Deadline for submissions for Houston Scholarship to Corey

 

MASTER CLASS

Friday, Aug 31, 12PM, Founders’ Room (403 EPB): Master Class on Master Classes, led by NWP Graduates

 

 

Week 3: September 3-8

 

SOCIAL

Tuesday, Sept 4: Deadline for Snack Tax to Julia Conrad

 

ACADEMIC & AWARD

Wednesday, Sept 5, 4:30PM, Founders’ Room (403 EPB): Information session about Patricia Foster’s spring 2019 seminar and the Writing Fellowships for Peace and Justice

 

AWARD

Friday, Sept 7, 3PM: Deadline for Herodotus Award proposals to Corey

 

AWARD

Friday, Sept 7, 3PM: Deadline for Englert Nonfiction Fellowship proposals to Corey

 

 

Week 4: September 10-15

 

ACADEMIC & AWARD

Friday, Sept 14, 3PM: Deadline for applications for Patricia Foster’s spring 2019 seminar and the Writing Fellowships for Peace and Justice to Corey

 

AWARD

Friday, Sept 14, 3PM: Deadline for Geneva Fellowship proposals to Corey

 

 

Week 5: September 17-22

 

ACADEMIC

Friday, Sept 21, 1PM, Gerber Lounge (EPB 304): Diversity Office Training Session

 

OUTREACH

Friday, Sept 21, 3PM: Deadline for Outreach Master Class proposals to Corey

 

 

Week 6: September 24-29

 

MASTER CLASS

Wednesday, Sept 26, 3PM, Founders’ Room (EPB 403): Master Class on Pitching to Magazines with Elliott Krause, Associate Editor at The Wall Street Journal’s in-house magazine The Future of Everything

 

SOCIAL

Wednesday, Sept 26, 8PM: Welcome Party for Shawn Wen at John D’Agata’s home

 

MASTER CLASS

Thursday, Sept 27, times tba: Manuscript Consultations with Sarah Gorham, Editor-in-Chief of Sarabande Books

 

MASTER CLASS

Thursday, Sept 27, 1PM, EPB 304 (Gerber Lounge): Q&A with Sarah Gorham, Editor-in-Chief of Sarabande Books (for undergraduates and graduate students)

 

READING

Thursday, Sept 27, 7:30PM, Old Capitol Senate Chamber: Celebration of Shawn Wen, Winner of the 2018 Krause Essay Prize, dessert reception following

 

MASTER CLASS

Friday, Sept 28, 10AM, Founders’ Room (EPB 403): Master Class with Shawn Wen

 

 

Week 7: October 1-6

 

READING

Mon-Sun, Oct 1-7: Iowa City Book Festival with various visiting writers

 

 

Week 8: October 8-13

 

READING

Fri-Sat, Oct 12-13, Iowa City: Witching Hour Festival with various visiting writers

 

OUTREACH

Saturday, Oct 13: Master Class trip to Geneva, NY

 

 

Week 9: October 15-20

 

READING

Wednesday, Oct 17, 7:30PM, Becker 101: IWP Nonfiction Fellows Roberto Echeto (Venezuela), Cai Tianxin (China), and Alisa Ganieva (Russia)

Reception at the home of Inara Verzemnieks

 

 

Week 10: October 22-27

 

MASTER CLASS

Wednesday, Oct 24, 1pm, Founders’ Room (EPB 403): Master Class with Valeria Luiselli, Ida Cordelia Beam Distinguished Visiting Professor

 

READING

Thursday, Oct 25, 7PM, Prairie Lights Books: Valeria Luiselli, Ida Cordelia Beam Distinguished Visiting Professor

 

OUTREACH

Saturday, Oct 27, 10am-6pm, Founders' Room (EPB 403): Master Classes

 

 

Week 11: October 29-November 3

 

EVENT

Wed, Oct 31, 2:15-3:15PM: Q&A with Little A/Topple Books Editors Hafizah Geter and Laura Van der Veer

 

 

Week 12: November 5-10

 

ACADEMIC

Monday, Nov 5: Early registration for Spring 2019 begins

 

MASTER CLASS

Friday, Nov 9, 10AM, Founders’ Room (EPB 403): A Master Class on Literary Translation with Katrina Dodson, Translator of The Complete Stories by Clarice Lispector

 

READING

Friday, Nov 9, 7PM, Prairie Lights Books: NWP Alum Kisha Lewellyn Schlegel with Meghan O’Gieblyn

 

SOCIAL

Saturday, Nov 10, 1PM, Colonial Lanes, Iowa City: NWP Bowling Tournament

 

 

Week 13: November 12-17

 

AWARD

Monday, Nov 12, 3PM: Deadline for submissions for Magdalena Award to Corey

 

 

Week 14: November 19-24

 

REST

Thanksgiving Week

 

 

Week 15: November 26-December 1

 

SOCIAL

Thursday, Nov 29, 7PM: Annual Non-Denominational Holiday Party, location TBA

 

 

Week 16: December 3-8

 

ACADEMIC

Friday, Dec 7: Close of classes

 

 

Week 17: December 10-15

 

ACADEMIC

Final exam week for the university

 

 

Winter Break: December 16-January 13