Calendar

The Nonfiction Writing Program

SPRING 2023 CALENDAR

 

 

Week 1: January 16-21          

HOLIDAY

Monday, Jan 16: Martin Luther King, Jr. Day – university offices closed

 

ACADEMIC

Tuesday, Jan 17: First Day of Classes

 

AWARD

Friday, Jan 20: Deadline for MFA Summer Fellowship materials to Cherie Hansen-Rieskamp (Second-Years Only)

 

AWARDS

Friday, Jan 20: Deadline for Digital Scholarship & Publishing Studio Summer Fellowship materials to Cherie Hansen-Rieskamp (for PhD and Second-Year MFA students)

 

COMMUNITY

Friday, Jan 20, 12PM, EPB 304 (Gerber): English Department Post-Holiday Gathering for Graduate Students, Faculty, and Staff

                 

Week 2: January 23-28

COMMUNITY

Friday, Jan 27, 2PM, EPB 425 (NWP office): Gathering to Welcome Jordan Kisner, the NWP’s Bedell Distinguished Visiting Professor

 

Week 3: January 30 - February 4

AWARD

Wednesday, Feb 1: Deadline for Edwin Ford Piper Memorial Scholarship materials to Cherie Hansen-Rieskamp (for PhD and MFA students – “for self-supporting women… with aspirations to help the cause of women”)

 

COMMUNITY

Friday, Feb 3, 1PM, EPB 425 (NWP office): Meeting on The Essay Review

 

Week 4: February 6-11

AWARD

Monday, Feb 6: Submissions for CLAS Postgraduate Visiting Writer applications due online (https://workflow.uiowa.edu/form/clas-postgraduate-visiting-writers) (Third-Years Only)

 

Week 5: February 13-18

OUTREACH

Monday, Feb 13, 3PM: Deadline for Buckley Master Class proposals to Corey

 

Week 6: February 20-25

ACADEMIC

Friday, Feb 24: Degree application deadline (Third-Years Only)

 

ACADEMIC

Friday, Feb 24, 1-2PM, in EPB 403: Thesis Committee Info Meeting (Second-Years)

 

ACADEMIC

Friday, Feb 24: MFA spring graduates (Third-Years Only) must send Cherie a list of their thesis title, thesis committee members, date, and time of defense

 

COMMUNITY

Friday, Feb 24, 3PM: Deadline for Community Master Class Proposals to Corey

 

Week 7: February 27 - March 4

AWARD

Friday, March 3, 3PM: Deadline for Herodotus Award proposals to Corey

 

Week 8: March 6-11

BUCKLEY MASTER CLASSES

Wed-Fri, March 8-10, 2023, in person in EPB: Buckley Master Classes

 

READING/COMMUNITY

Thursday, March 9, time & location tbd: Buckley Fellow Reading

 

COMMUNITY

Friday, March 10, 2:30PM, EPB 425 (NWP office): Buckley Closing Reception

 

COMMUNITY

Wed-Sat, March 8-11, Seattle, WA: 2023 AWP Conference & Bookfair

 

Week 9: March 13-18

REST

Spring Break

 

Week 10: March 20-25

 

Week 11: March 27-April 2

ACADEMIC

Friday, March 31, 10AM: Second-Years to submit thesis proposals to faculty

 

COMMUNITY

Saturday, April 1, EPB 403: Community Master Classes

 

READING

Sunday, April 2, time tbd, Prairie Lights Books, Krause Series in Contemporary Nonfiction: Kerry Howley, NWP alum and author of Bottoms Up and the Devil Laughs: A Journey Through the Deep State, in conversation with Rachel Yoder, NWP alum and author of Nightbitch

 

Week 12: April 3-8

 

MASTER CLASS

Monday, April 3, time & EPB room tbd: Master Class with NWP alum Kerry Howley (for all NWP students)

 

COMMUNITY

Mon-Fri, April 3-7: NWP Welcome Week for Possible New NWP Students

 

READING

Thursday, April 6, 7PM, Prairie Lights Books, Krause Series in Contemporary Nonfiction: Raquel Gutierrez, author of Brown Neon, sponsored by the UI MFA in Translation Program

 

COMMUNITY

Thurs-Sat, April 6-8, Englert Theatre, Iowa City: Mission Creek Festival

 

AWARD

Friday, April 7, 3PM: Submissions for Roxanne Mueller Award due to Corey

 

Week 13: April 10-15

ACADEMIC

Monday, April 10: Early Registration for Fall 2023 begins

 

Week 14: April 17-22

 

Week 15: April 24-29

ACADEMIC

Tuesday, April 25: Deadline for Single Thesis Deposit (Third-Years Only)

 

Week 16: May 1-6

ACADEMIC

Friday, May 5: Close of classes

 

SOCIAL

Friday, May 5, time & venue tbd: NWP Graduation Reading

 

SOCIAL

Saturday, May 6, time & venue tbd: NWP Graduation Ceremony/Garden Party

 

Week 17: May 8-13

ACADEMIC

Final exam week for the university