Calendar

The Nonfiction Writing Program

FALL 2022 CALENDAR

 

 

ORIENTATION

Thursday, Aug 18, 5:30pm, EPB 403: NWP Student-led Orientation for First Year Students

 

SOCIAL

Friday, Aug 19, 6pm: NWP Ice Cream Social at Prof. Bonnie Sunstein's Home

 

Week 1: August 22-27            

ACADEMIC

Monday, Aug 22: First Day of Fall Classes

 

SOCIAL

Friday, Aug 26, 11:30am-1pm, EPB 304 (Gerber Lounge): "I Survived the First Week" Social Mixer for Graduate Students, Faculty, and Staff

                 

Week 2: August 29-September 3

ACADEMIC

Monday, Aug 29, 7pm, EPB 304 (Gerber Lounge): Mandatory NWP All-Program Meeting

 

READING

Wednesday, Aug 31, 7pm, Prairie Lights Books: NWP Alum Darius Stewart reads as part of the Krause Series in Contemporary Nonfiction, followed by conversation with poet Katie Berta, Managing Editor of The Iowa Review

 

Week 3: September 5-10

REST

Monday, Sept 5: Labor Day - university closed

 

COMMUNITY

Wednesday, Sept 7, 7pm, via Zoom: NWP Alumni of Color Zoom Meeting for NWP Students

 

Week 4: September 12-17

INFORMATION

Friday, Sept 16, 3pm, EPB 304 (Gerber Lounge) & via Zoom: AGSE Meeting on Fellowships for Graduate Students

 

Week 5: September 19-24

READING

Tuesday, Sept 20, 7pm, Prairie Lights Books: NWP Alum Tom Montgomery Fate reads as part of the Krause Series in Contemporary Nonfiction

 

CONVERSATION/COMMUNITY

Friday, Sept 23, 2pm, Hancher-Strauss Hall: Nabil Ayers and James Spooner in Conversation

 

OUTREACH

Friday, Sept 23, 3pm: Deadline for Outreach Master Class Proposals to Corey

 

READING

Friday, Sept 23, 7pm, Prairie Lights Books: A Reading and Q & A with Nabil Ayers and James Spooner, Moderated by Prof. Deborah Whaley 

 

Week 6: September 26-October 1

READING/COMMUNITY

Wed, Sept 28-Thurs, Oct 13, Iowa City: Iowa City Book Festival with various visiting writers

 

AWARD

Friday, Sept 30, 3pm: Deadline for Englert Nonfiction Fellowship proposals to Corey     

 

Week 7: October 3-8

READING/COMMUNITY

Wed, Sept 28-Thurs, Oct 13, Iowa City: Iowa City Book Festival with various visiting writers

COMMUNITY

Friday, Oct 7, time tbd: NWP Haunted Corn Maze Adventure!

 

Week 8: October 10-15

COMMUNITY

Thurs, Oct 13, EPB tbd: Editor Joey McGarvey, Milkweed Editions, Visits NWP (consultations tbd)

 

COMMUNITY EVENT

Friday, Oct 14, 12pm, EPB 304 (Gerber Lounge): Publishing Q&A with Joey McGarvey, Senior Editor at Milkweed Editions

 

Week 9: October 17-22

COMMUNITY

Saturday, Oct 22, 1pm, Colonial Lanes: NWP Bowling Tournament

 

Week 10: October 24-29

OUTREACH

Saturday, Oct 29, times tbd, EPB 403: NWP Outreach Master Classes

 

Week 11: October 31-November 5

READING

Wednesday, Nov 2, 7pm, Prairie Lights Books: Juliet Patterson reads as part of the Krause Series in Contemporary Nonfiction

 

READING

Thursday, Nov 3, time tbd, Film Scene: Screening + Reading with Ander Monson as part of the Krause Series in Contemporary Nonfiction

 

MASTER CLASS

Friday, Nov 4, morning time tbd: Master Class with Ander Monson

 

Week 12: November 7-12

ACADEMIC

Monday, Nov 7: Early Registration for Spring 2023 begins

 

AWARD

Friday, Nov 11, by 3pm: Deadline for submissions for Magdalena Award to Corey

 

Week 13: November 14-19

 

Week 14: November 21-26

REST

Thanksgiving Week

 

Week 15: November 28-December 3

READING

Thursday, Dec 1, 7pm, Prairie Lights Books: NWP Alum Drew Bratcher reads as part of the Krause Series in Contemporary Nonfiction

 

Week 16: December 5-10

ACADEMIC

Friday, Dec 9: Close of classes

 

COMMUNITY

Friday, Dec 9, timd tbd: NWP Non-denominational Holiday Party

 

Week 17: December 12-17

ACADEMIC

Final exam week for the university

 

Winter Break: December 19, 2022 - January 16, 2023